..the secret life of daydreams..

a blog of the everyday beautiful

new beginnings

1

A belated Happy New Year to you all! It’s been a while since I’ve posted but the holidays kept me rather busy and life is now finally settling down to normalcy, which is a good thing.

I just wanted to share some pictures of a wine and cheese themed New Years party that Justin and I threw. His parents were very generous and let us use their house which was great since they have a lot of space. We took over most of the main floor of the house and I went to town with the decorating. Unfortunately, we had cleaned everything up the next morning before I realized I never took any photos of the decorations in the foyer (extreme sadness!). I do have a few taken with an iPhone which I shall put up, but they really don’t do it justice. oh well…

Here are some shots of the food and decor in the kitchen:

new years table

IMG_8527

These lights in empty wine bottles were definitely a great addition. They are simply very tiny battery operated LED light strings (5 ft. long). I picked them up from Restoration Hardware.

cheese

Nothing like lots of cheese! The other star of the party was obviously the wine. We specifically chose local wines from British Columbia, all of which were from the wonderful vineyards of the stunning Okanagan valley. Justin and I both adore this area and have done several winery tours through the area and it was exciting to share some of our favorites with our friends.

wineIMG_8530

We had a blast with a photobooth I set up for the guests as well; and my lovely sister-in-law and her friend did amazing work with the props! Way to go girls on whipping those up at the last moment!

photobooth collage

All in all it was a fantastic night. I’m still a little devastated by the lack of other decor pictures but I can tell you there were great! Here are a few photos from my iPhone to give a sense…

foyer

It was a great way to ring in the New Year and I wish you and yours all the best in 2013!

IMG_8532

One thought on “new beginnings

Leave a Reply

